Board of Directors

Home / Board of Directors

Our People

Board of Directors
Independent Audit Committee

Organization Overview

Learn more about SFAz

Click here

Impacting Arizona

We connect Arizona researchers and businesses to strengthen Arizona’s economy.

Learn more

Board of Directors

The Science Foundation Arizona board of directors is comprised of distinguished and respected leaders from Arizona, as well as highly talented experts in academia, R&D and business from the United States and internationally.

Donald Budinger
Phoenix, AZ (Chairman)
Mr. Budinger is founder and president of Rodel Inc., a startup that grew to become the world’s largest manufacturer of the surface finishing chemicals used to make computer chips, rigid memory disks and specialty optics. Currently, Budinger is Chairman and Founding Director of the Rodel Foundations, and Board Member of The Morrison Institute, Greater Phoenix Economic Council, Basis Charter Schools and Greater Phoenix Leadership. In addition, Don serves on the Southern Arizona Leadership Council, Tucson Values Teachers and the O’Connor House Advisory Group.

Craig Barrett, Ph.D.
Phoenix, AZ (Vice Chairman)
Dr. Craig Barrett received a Ph.D. degree from Stanford.  After joining Intel in 1974, he served as CEO and chairman, retiring in 2009.

Dr. Barrett is a leading advocate for improving education and increasing awareness of the value of technology in raising economic and social standards globally.  He chairs Achieve, Change The Equation, Arizona Ready Education Council, and BASIS Schools; co-chairs the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Advisory Board; vice chairs Science Foundation Arizona; and is on the Boards of Society for Science and the Public, K12, Arizona Commerce Authority, Tallwave, and Geothermic Solution.  Dr. Barrett previously served as Chair of the National Academy of Engineering.  He is on the faculty of Thunderbird School of Global Management, and Dr. Barrett and his wife, Barbara, founded Barrett, the Honors College at Arizona State University.

William Harris, Ph.D.
Phoenix, AZ (CEO)
Dr. Harris is the president and chief executive officer of Science Foundation Arizona.  He served as founding director general of Science Foundation Ireland; designed and led several industry/university R&D collaborative programs for the National Science Foundation; served as National Science Foundation Director of Mathematical and Physical Sciences; and vice president of research at the University of South Carolina.  Dr. Harris is an elected member of the Royal Irish Academy.

Robert Millis, Ph.D.
Flagstaff, AZ (Treasurer)
Dr. Millis is a planetary astronomer and former director of the Lowell Observatory, one of the largest privately managed astronomical research institutions in the nation.  He is a renowned expert in studies of the outer solar system and serves on the board for the Associated Universities for Research in Astronomy; Arizona Arts, Science and Technology Academy; and Flagstaff Forty.

Fred Boice
Tucson, AZ (Secretary)
Fred Boice has been active in Arizona’s education community for more than 45 years. He served as president of The University of Arizona Foundation, Junior Achievement and the Tucson Airport Authority. As an eight-year member of the Arizona Board of Regents, Boice assisted in shaping the board’s first long-term, system-wide strategic plan to increase the number of Arizonans with bachelor’s degrees by expanding lower cost options for degree attainment to make Arizona more academically competitive.

Alastair Glass, Ph.D.
Rumson, New Jersey (Board Member Emeritus)
Dr. Glass has a distinguished career in scientific research & development and government service. In his 30-year career with Bell Labs – Lucent Technologies he became internationally known for his accomplishments in photonics and optoelectronics. Dr. Glass served as the first Deputy Minister of Research and Innovation for the Province of Ontario and the first Director of Information and Communication Technologies for Science Foundation Ireland. He is presently chairman of the Tyndall National Institute, Cork, Ireland and president of Transparent Solutions Inc, a scientific consulting firm. Dr. Glass is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and a recipient of the Sarnoff Award for his pioneering work in electro-optical materials.

Anita Jones, Ph.D.
Charlottesville, Virginia (Board Member Emeritus)
Dr. Jones is a university professor in the Department of Computer Science and Lawrence R. Quarles Professor of Engineering and Applied Science in the School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Virginia.  She served from 1993 to 1997 as director of Defense Research and Engineering for the Department of Defense and oversaw the science and technology program, research laboratories and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.  In addition, she served as vice chair of the National Science Board and is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Ira Levin, Ph.D.
Bethesda, Maryland (Board Member Emeritus)
Dr. Levin is a senior research leader and Scientific Director of Intramural Research of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland.  He earned a B.S. from the University of Virginia and his Ph.D. from Brown University.  He completed his post-doctoral training at the University of Washington.   He is an expert in membrane dynamics, structural biology and spectroscopic imaging.  Dr. Levin is internationally recognized for his spectroscopic accomplishments and has been honored with many awards.

Martina Newell-McGloughlin, Ph.D.
Davis, California (Board Member Emeritus)
Dr. Newell-McGloughlin directs the University of California’s Biotechnology Research and Education Program (UCBREP), that includes all ten campus sites and the national labs at Livermore, Berkeley and Los Alamos, New Mexico.  She is an internationally recognized authority on biotechnology with a broad knowledge of biotech-related research in academia and industry.

Carl Wieman, Ph. D.
Stanford, California (Board Member Emeritus)

Carl Wieman is a 2001 Nobel Prize laureate in physics and holds a joint appointment as Professor at Stanford University in both the Physics Department and the School of Education. Previously he served as Professor of Physics at both the University of British Columbia and the University of Colorado, where he also held the title of Presidential Teaching Scholar. He was the Director of the UBC Carl Wieman Science Education Initiative, and he has conducted research in a variety of areas of atomic physics, laser spectroscopy, and science education. He started the PhET website, which creates interactive simulations for science education, which are now used more than 40 million times a year. His work in education has been recognized with numerous awards, including the National Science Foundation’s Distinguished Teaching Scholar Award (2001), the Carnegie Foundation’s U.S. University Professor of the Year Award (2004), and the American Association of Physics Teachers’ Oersted Medal (2007). Dr. Wieman is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and recently completed a post as the Associate Director of Science at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Contact Us / Newsletter

Thank you for contacting us. We will respond as soon as we can. -SFAz